We will soon be launching our newly designed website. Please check back frequently for updates and we look forward to getting your feedback! As always, Annette and the team will be on hand to answer any queries, by phone or email.

Composer Information: Terence Greaves

Terence Greaves was born in 1933. He became a boy chorister at Welbeck Abbey in Nottinghamshire and after schooling at Buxton College and National Service in The Royal Signals Staff Band he read music at Keble College, Oxford. He began work as a lecturer at the Birmingham School of Music, later becoming Director of Studies. This brought him into contact with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, particularly the wind quintet and its clarinettist John Fuest, with whom he worked regularly in concerts and broadcasts.

He has written much music for voices, piano and various wind instruments, particularly the clarinet. For the CBSO he composed a pair of fun pieces: for Wind Quintet - 'Beethoven's Fifth Bossa Nova' (Order ref: E42) and for Brass Quintet - Rimsky's Rumba (Order ref: E191). Later, at the suggestion of Kerry Camden he wrote for Wind Quintet, again, 'Mozart's Turkey Rock Mambo' (Order ref: E245).

He became Dean at the Royal Northern College of Music, from which he took early retirement to work as a freelance composer, accompanist, lecturer, writer and music consultant on examination matters. He was the examiner for the first examinations of the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music in Vienna in 1986.


Back to list of composers

  • MasterCard Credit
  • JCB
  • Maestro
  • Visa Credit
  • Visa Electron
  • Powered by WorldPay